Support the Thea Foundation at the Governor’s Culinary Challenge

As soon as school starts, Central Arkansas always seems to be brimming with events. Fall festivals, beer dinners, charity events – you name it – it’s happening.
With everything occurring simultaneously, don’t let the Governor’s Culinary Challenge benefiting the Thea Foundation go unnoticed.
The event – a combination of gourmet bites and top-tiered drinks prepared by local chefs and mixologists, along with the jazz of Dr. Danny Fletcher and company – is in its third year and will take place at the Capital Hotel on Oct. 19 at 6:30 p.m.
The culinary challenge has quickly become the Thea Foundation’s second-largest fundraiser. If you’re wondering why that matters, consider this – all of the proceeds from the event go to Thea’s scholarship program, which has awarded more than $2 million to Arkansas high school seniors.
More than just a financial reward, embracing the talents of youth can inspire them and, ultimately, lead to gained confidence. These efforts can help young, talented individuals from sliding through the cracks.
With that in mind, get ready to eat, drink and be merry amidst an excellent group of talented individuals while supporting a great cause.
Look for your favorite chef, mixologist, and personality:
The chef line-up includes Payne Harding of Cache, Capi Peck of Trio’s, Marc Guizol of the Capital Hotel, Matthew Bell of South on Main, Stephen Burrow of Forty Two, Diana Bratton of Café 1217 and Taco Mama, Jamie McAfee of Pine Bluff Country Club, and Cassidy Johnson of Samantha’s Taproom and Wood Grill. This year’s chair is Peter Brave of Brave New Restaurant. Mixologists include Jared Teague of Heights Taco and Tamale, Luiggi Uzcategui of Big Orange, and David Richmond of Skinny J’s.
Local personalities and special guests include Kevin Kresse, artist; Joe Smith, Mayor of North Little Rock; Mark Stodola, Mayor of Little Rock; James Hayes, artist; Margaret Ellerbee, president of Pulaski Technical College; Renee Shapiro, film critic and anchor for KATV; Chris Kane, anchor for KATV; David Bazzel, host on 103.7 The Buzz; Jason Harper, former news anchor; Angela E. Thomas, editor of AY Magazine; and Lisa Fischer, host on B98.5.
Mark your calendar for Monday, Oct. 19 at the Capital Hotel at 6:30 p.m. Individual tickets are $100 and are available online at or by phone at 501-379-9512.

Author: Becca

Share on facebook

More Articles